Goodbye 2013. It’s Been Bittersweet.

2013 has been a rocky year for a lot of us. For me, the year started with child custody hearings, followed closely by losing a job with a company that I had been with for close to ten years. All of this happening during a struggling economy when decent paying jobs are still hard to come by.

On the flip side of that coin, I’ve been going through a bit of self discovery:

  • I’ve learned that I’m pretty darned good at baking bread.
  • I’m rediscovering writing, something that I haven’t done much of since high school.
  • I’m learning more and more about gardening, both veggies and flowers.
  • I’ve gotten to spend more time at home with family, something I couldn’t do working retail.
  • I’ve been able to learn a bit more about my extended family via Facebook.

Yep, 2013 had its good points and bad points, and when it comes down to it, I’ve enjoyed and valued the time that I’ve had here at home.

Had I the talent eloquence of author Neil Gaiman, I’d put this wish into my own words and send it out to each and every one of you, but no one says it better than he. Tonight, I send you the same wish that he wished his friends and fans over a decade ago:

Gaiman“May your coming year be filled with magic and dreams and good madness. I hope you read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you’re wonderful, and don’t forget to make some art — write or draw or build or sing or live as only you can. And I hope, somewhere in the next year, you surprise yourself.” 

(If you’ve never read any of Neil Gaiman’s work, I highly suggest starting with The Ocean at the End of the Lane. The man is an utter genius with the pen.)

Happy New Year friends. I sincerely hope it’s a wonderful year for all of us, but however it turns out great or otherwise, endeavor to make it yours.  

Be safe, and I’ll see y’all again in 2014. 🙂

One thought on “Goodbye 2013. It’s Been Bittersweet.

Leave a Reply

