Planning for Next Year’s Garden

Today, trailing from link to link about gardening, I stumbled on Old World Garden Farms, and I love their simple, neat explanations of Raised Row Gardening and Straw Bed Crate Gardening.

all-purpose-garden

The raised bed idea that they list has a couple of pluses for me. No tilling and little or no weeding!

They have a raised row garden plan there that looks perfect for us. It’s a bit larger than last year’s beds and has room for a lot of things I would have liked to have this year, namely onions, potatoes, and carrots. The only thing not in there that will be a must have for next year is cucumbers and green beans. but I’m thinking about a separate small bed with a cattle panel for those.

Time to put a few bucks together and go get me a couple of large tarps to clear the area over the winter! 🙂

crate-planter1I’ve heard of straw bale gardening before, but they added something I had never thought of: build “crates” for the bales out of recycled pallets. What a nifty idea! Hay bales are cheap, and very little soil is used in this method. And the crates give a bit more structure to the whole shebang and give a rustic feel. Reading on other sites led me to discover that not all pallets are created equal though. If you’re going to do this, be sure and use only pallets that are stamped “HT” for heat treated. If they’re not stamped with the HT, chances are they’re chemically treated with insecticides and preservatives, neither of which are healthy to grow your garden against.

Add another cool use for recycled old pallets! I have several projects using them saved on my computer for a winter day when I’m feeling industrious. Guess it’s time for me to go grab some of those free pallets listed on Craigslist! 🙂

Leave a Reply

